Get your free website from Spanglefish

Local Government Overview

There are three local authorities who provide services in Worplesdon:

Worplesdon Parish Council - We represent the grass roots level of local government.  The Parish Council is the first tier of Local Government.

The Parish Council has overall responsibility for the well-being of its local community.  Our work falls into three main categories:

  • Representing the local community
  • Delivering services to meet local needs
  • Striving to improve quality of life in the parish

Guildford Borough Council

  • Collection of council tax and non-domestic rates
  • Environmental health
  • Housing
  • Leisure centres
  • Local plans and planning applications
  • Public conveniences
  • Waste collection

Surrey County Council

  • Birth, marriage and death registration
  • Education
  • Fire
  • Highways – including on-street parking, traffic management, and street lighting
  • Libraries
  • Recreation, arts and museums
  • Social care
  • Strategic planning
  • Trading standards
  • Transport
  • Waste disposal

In addtion Surrey Wildlife Trust manages eight out of the nine commons in Worplesdon:

  • Backside Common
  • Broad Street Common
  • Chitty's Common
  • Littlefield Common
  • Rydes Hill Common
  • Stringer's Common
  • Rickford Common
  • Whitmoor Common

The Worplesdon Memorial Hall and Grounds are managed by the Worplesdon Memorial Trustees

Click for Map
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement