Get your free website from Spanglefish

Welcome to the website of

Weston Rhyn Parish Council

Weston Rhyn is located in the County of Shropshire and the Parish covers villages of Weston Rhyn, Chirk Bank and Rhoswiel plus hamlets such as Bronygarth and the Wern. The 2011 Census records 2,850 inhabitants.

Weston Rhyn is recorded as Westune in the Doomsday Book. Tun or ton means settlement or hamlet, rhyn means hill or mount. Originally the townships of Weston Rhyn and Bronygarth were in the Parish of St Martins. In 1870 they were formed into a separate ecclesiastical district known as "the Lodge" and then in 1898 into the civil parish of Weston Rhyn. (Source: Wikipeadia).

On this site you will find Parish Council news, a list of Parish Councillors, dates of Council meetings scheduled for 2016/17, record of past Chairman of the Council since 1959 plus a point of contact. Historical Agendas and Minutes will be added over time, 2014, 2015 and 2016 documents are now available.

Councillor Pat McGuinness (Chairman) Co-opted on to the Council June 2013

Roger Antony Dyke (Clerk)                  Appointed June 1989

Click for Map WikanikoWork from Home
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement