Local Government

There are three tiers of Local Government:  County, District and Parish Councils.

All three have different responsibilities although some are shared.

County Council.

Arts & Recreation, Museums & Galleries, Tourism, Consumer Protection, Education, Fire Management, Footpaths, Planning, National Parks, Police, Social Services,Traffic & Highways, Public Transport, Transport Planning.

District Council.

Arts & Recreation, Museums & Galleries, Tourism, Cemeteries and Crematoria, Environmental Health, Refuse Collection, Footpaths, Housing, Licensing, Markets & Fairs, Planning, Rate Collection, Traffic & Highways, Public Transport.

Parish Council.

Allotments, Cemeteries, Bus Shelters, Public Clocks, Village Halls, Community Centres, Drainage, Footpaths, Street Lighting, Litter Bins, Planning, Public Conveniences, Car Parks, Recretaion Grounds, Rights of Way, Public Benches, Signs, War Memorials.

What part does a Parish Council play in Local Government?

The Parish Council is the third tier of local government, after the County Council and the District Council, but it is a non-political body. It works for and on behalf of local residents, is at the "grass roots" and is in the best position to represent the views of the local community.

Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings, and may address the council prior to or during (at the discretion of the Chairman) the meetings of the full council.


How is Wedmore Parish Council Organised?

Wedmore Parish Council has sixteen Councillors (covering three Wards for Blackford, Theale, Wedmore) and a Clerk.  The  full Council meets every month on the third Wednesday of the month. Much of its work is remitted to Committees the busiest of which is the Planning Committee which meets very often twice a month to consider and send comments to Sedgemoor District Council on all Planning Applications in the Parish.

Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement